Announcing Critical Theory Dissertation Fellowship | Applications Due April 2

The Critical Theory Dissertation Fellowship is awarded to Critical Theory Designated Emphasis (DE) graduate students with records of achievement and promising dissertation projects. The fellowship supports dissertating students with up to $36,000 toward a stipend, fees, and summer funds.

Applications for the 2015-2016 Critical Theory Dissertation Fellowship are due Thursday, April 2, 2015. Eligible students must be enrolled in the Critical Theory DE and not receive significant (non-teaching) financial support from their Departments during the period of the award. Applicants must have completed their Qualifying Exams and have an approved dissertation prospectus.

Application Guidelines

Applicants must submit a 2-3 page abstract of the dissertation and a letter from the dissertation adviser evaluating the project’s promise. Applicants planning on having the prospectus approved by the end of May 2015 should explain this in the application cover letter, and should have the dissertation director, in his or her letter, evaluate the draft or proposed prospectus and the likelihood of its approval.

Completed applications, including all supporting materials, must be received by Thursday, April 2, 2015 at 4 pm. Applicants can expect to hear from the Critical Theory Program by the end of the Spring 2015 semester. Please submit applications electronically as a single PDF to

Deadline for applications: April 2, 2015 by 4 pm
Award Announced: May 4, 2015
Award Period: July 1, 2015 – June 30, 2016
Award Amount: Up to $36,000 in stipend, fee payments, and summer funds

The Dissertation Fellowship is open to Critical Theory students in UC Berkeley Departments including Anthropology, Boalt Law School, Comparative Literature, East Asian Languages and Cultures, English, Ethnic Studies, Film & Media, French, Gender & Women’s Studies, German, Geography, History, History of Art, Italian, Music, Philosophy, Political Science, Rhetoric, School of Education, School of Public Health, Sociology, South & Southeast Asian Studies, Spanish & Portuguese, and Theater, Dance and Performance Studies.

The 2014-2015 Fellowship recipient was Joshua Williams (Performance Studies) for his dissertation on the politics of race and animality in Kenyan and Tanzanian performance art from the 1930s through the 1990s. In 2013-2014, the recipient was Ramsey McGlazer (Comparative Literature) for his dissertation on counter-progressive pedagogy in modernist literature and cinema, and In 2012-2013, the recipient was Mareike Winchell (Anthropology) for her dissertation on the legal and affective legacies of land reform in post-revolutionary Bolivia.

Photo credit: Gisèle Freund, Walter Benjamin in the Bibliothèque Nationale, 1937