Fifteen UC Berkeley Graduate Students Accepted into Critical Theory’s Designated Emphasis Program

The Program in Critical Theory welcomes fifteen new graduate students to the Designated Emphasis (DE) in Critical Theory. The incoming cohort represents diverse research and disciplinary backgrounds that add substantially to our community of over ninety Critical Theory DE students and fifty-five faculty. The Program congratulates our incoming students on their acceptance to the DE; we look forward to their participation in and contributions to the Program’s coursework and activities.

2015-2016 Critical Theory Designated Emphasis Students:

Phillip Campanile (Geography); Aurelia Cojocaru (Comparative Literature); David Delano (History); Alfonso Fierro (Spanish and Portuguese); Michael Harvey (Public Health); Donna Honarpisheh (Near Eastern Studies); Basit Iqbal (Anthropology); Andrew Key (English); Daryl Maude (East Asian Languages and Culture); Pedro Rolón (Comparative Literature); Gil Rothschild (Jurisprudence and Social Policy); Elisa Russian (Italian Studies); Maria-Fátima Santos (Sociology); Desmond Sheehan (Music); Camila YaDeau (Rhetoric)

The DE in Critical Theory promotes the interdisciplinary study of eighteenth- and nineteenth-century notions of critique; of the Frankfurt School and other twentieth-century currents of critical theory and philosophy;, and of contemporary forms and modes of critical theory. It enables graduate students already enrolled in UC Berkeley Ph.D. programs from across the social sciences, arts, and humanities to obtain certification of a Designated-Emphasis specialization in Critical Theory. Students admitted to the DE who complete its requirements will receive a parenthetical notation to that effect on their doctoral degrees. The Critical Theory Program offers graduate fellowships, hosts international scholars, and presents lectures, seminars, and other events for the wider campus community and local public. It also maintains important collaborative relations with other critical theory institutes and programs nationally and internationally.