Congratulations to Our New Designated Emphasis Students

The Program in Critical Theory is delighted to welcome 16 new students to the Designated Emphasis in Critical Theory. The new cohort includes graduate students from Berkeley departments in the social sciences, humanities, and professional schools. These new admits bring the total number of Critical Theory DE students to nearly 105.

  • Joel Auerbach, Rhetoric
  • Aukeem A. Ballard, Education
  • Andrew Blough, German
  • Peter W. Brown, English
  • Naima Karczmar, English
  • Sean Lambert, German
  • Jonathan Mackris, Film & Media
  • Sarah Merchant, Sociology
  • Daniel Owen, South & Southeast Asian Studies
  • Lucas Plazek, Slavic Languages & Literature
  • Jake Orbison, English
  • William Rathje, Sociology
  • Christián González Reyes, Comparative Literature
  • Filip Sestan, Slavic Languages & Literature
  • Alexa Kurmanov, Anthropology
  • Farid Zareie, Medical Anthropology (joint program with UCSF)

Congratulations, all!