Sixteen UC Berkeley Graduate Students Accepted into Critical Theory’s Designated Emphasis Program

The Program in Critical Theory welcomes sixteen new graduate students to the Designated Emphasis (DE) in Critical Theory. The incoming cohort represents diverse research and disciplinary backgrounds that add substantially to the community of nearly 100 Critical Theory DE students. The Program in Critical Theory congratulates these students on their acceptance to the DE and looks forward to their contributions in coursework, working groups, and events.

2014-2015 Critical Theory Designated Emphasis Students:

Youssef Belal (Anthropology); Tyler Blakeney (French); Lilith de Bellesiles (Rhetoric); Paul de Morais (Comparative Literature); Evyn Espiritu (Rhetoric); Matthew Gonzales (Comparative Literature); Azucena Hernandez-Ramirez (Spanish and Portuguese); Megan Hoetger (Theater, Dance and Performance Studies); Elizabeth Vargas Holguin (Spanish and Portuguese); Taylor Johnston (Comparative Literature); Anooj Kansara (Rhetoric) Gabriel Regalado (African Diaspora Studies); Ryan Rhadigan (Rhetoric); Christopher Scott (Comparative Literature); Simone Stirner (Comparative Literature); Heriberto Martinez-Yepez (Spanish and Portuguese)

The DE in Critical Theory promotes the interdisciplinary study of foundational, eighteenth- and nineteenth-century notions of critique, the Frankfurt School and other twentieth-century currents of critical theory and philosophy, and contemporary forms and modes of critical theory. It enables graduate students already enrolled in UC Berkeley Ph.D. programs from across the social sciences, arts, and humanities to obtain certification of a Designated-Emphasis specialization in Critical Theory. Students admitted to the DE who complete its requirements will receive a parenthetical notation to that effect on their doctoral degrees. The Critical Theory Program offers graduate fellowships, hosts international scholars, and presents lectures, seminars, and other events for the wider campus community and local public. It also maintains important collaborative relations with other critical theory institutes and programs nationally and internationally.